Indian Parliament Elections : Kerala State-- 1996

Performance of Political Parties-- No of candidates, seats won and Votes Polled

Sl. No.Political PartyNo. of CandidatesSeats wonVotesPercentage
1All India Foward Block AIFB10128370.09
2Bharatiya Janata Party BJP2008948436.22
3Bahujan Samaj Party BSP30221390.15
4Communist Party of India CPI4211829448.22
5Communist Party of India (Marxist) CPM95304436921.16
6Indian Congress (Socialist) ICS103326222.31
7Indian National Congress (Indira) INCI177546713238.00
8Others / Independents IND15103214022.23
9Indian National League INL1013540.01
10Indian Union Muslim League IUML227308095.08
11Janata Dal JD216331044.40
12Janata Party JP60135570.09
13Kerala Congress (Joseph) KCJ103205392.23
14Kerala Congress (Mani) KCM113823192.66
15LDF supported Independents LDF215959024.14
16People's Democratic Party PDP70649500.45
17Revolutionary Socialist Party RSP113597862.50
18Samata Party SP107210.01
19Shiv Sena SS2032670.02
Percentage based on valid votes polled calculated from constituency wise totals.
IND stands for Independents. Other abbreviations of independents indicate political affiliation.


Cyberjournalist-- Resources for Journalists