Biodata of Mr. E.T. Mohamed Basheer (ML)

Son of Moosakutty and Fathima. Born on 1st July 1946 at Mapprom (Malappuram District).
Profession : Social, Political and Trade union worker

Entered politics through M.S.F. later actively engaged in Trade Union field and became State Secretary of S.T.U., worked as President of various trade unions affiliated to STU. In industrial firms like Mavoor Gwalior Rayons, Malabar Cements, Palakkad, Edarikode Textiles, Kerala Electrical and Allied, Kundara, Malabar Spinning Mills, Kozhikode, Modern Spinning Mills, Kozhikode, Steel Complex, Kozhikode and K.S.D.C. Kuttipuram.Was first prize holder in Elocution competition in State Youth Festival held in 1964, attended the 3 months Workshop conducted by Indian Social Institute Bangalore, for trade unions leaders, attended world Malayalees Conference held in Berlin (1984), was Member in Kerala Agricultural University Senate, Kerala State Orphanage Control Board and Industries Relationship Committee, presented thesis on the subject 21st Century Development Options in the NGO international Seminar held at Oslo (Norway) in 1982, was Member in Janardhan Reddy Commission, Veerappa Moily Commission and Minority Education Monitoring Committee.

Was State Education Minister during 1991-96.
As Minister, was instrumental in promoting the concept of self-financing colleges. During the period received four Awards (1) Ponnara Sreedhar Foundation's Karma Shreshta Award for best Administrator, (2) Silver Elephant presented by President of India for conducting Jamboori Meet at Palakkad successfully, (3) Special award by Anti-narcotic Council for eradicating narcotics from school premises (4) Award instituted by Kerala Sasthra Vedi for promoting Science and Technology Education in rural areas. Also won the award for best short story writer in the competition conducted for legislators in connection with Legislature Day Celebrations. Was Kondotty Mandalam Committee President, Malappuram District Committee Secretary and State Secretariat Member of Muslim League.

Elected to Kerala Assembly in 1985 (bye-election ), 1991, 1996 and 2001

Last update: April 2009.