Kerala Assembly Election Results 1991:


V. J. Thankappan (CPIM) declared elected by a margin of 6835 votes.

Total electorate: 151817
Votes polled: 110078

Name of the CandidatePartyVotes
Mr. V. J. Thankappan CPIM 47036
Mr. Stanley Satyanesan CMP 40201
Mr. P. Ashok Kumar BJP 17072
Mr. P. K. Achuthan IND 1516
Mr. P. A. Padmanabhan IND 364
Mr. Sudarsanan IND 265
Mr. A. M. Badisha JP 193
Invalid: 3431

In 1987, V. J. Thankappan (CPI-M) won by a margin of 20755 votes.