Kerala Assembly Election Results 1991:


M. C. Cheriyan (moozhickal) (Cong-I) declared elected by a margin of 2239 votes.

Total electorate: 117322
Votes polled: 87287

Name of the CandidatePartyVotes
Mr. M. C. Cheriyan (moozhickal) Cong-I 41048
Mr. Idikula Mappila CPIM 38809
Mr. M. P. Anil Kumar BJP 4748
Mr. Das Adichippuzha BSP 965
Mr. M. C. Cherian (moolayil) IND 280
Mr. Thomas Attathara IND 230
Mr. T. K. Thampi IND 113
Invalid: 1094

In 1987, Eapen Varghese (KC-Joseph) won by a margin of 1203 votes.