Kerala Assembly Election Results 1991:


Joseph M. Puthusseri (KCB) declared elected by a margin of 5236 votes.

Total electorate: 107343
Votes polled: 77528

Name of the CandidatePartyVotes
Mr. Joseph M. Puthusseri KCB 35524
Mr. T. S. John KC-Joseph 30288
Mr. A. P. Gopalakrishnan BJP 6062
Mr. V. S. Soman BSP 1341
Mr. Alex Kurien IND 998
Mr. Prasad K. Varghese IND 558
Mr. Thomas Abraham IND 263
Mr. P. C. Thomas Kutty IND 105
Invalid: 2389

In 1987, C. A. Mathew (ICS) won by a margin of 1756 votes.