Kerala Assembly Election Results 1991:


C. M. Sundaram (Cong-I) declared elected by a margin of 3507 votes.

Total electorate: 140683
Votes polled: 93217

Name of the CandidatePartyVotes
Mr. C. M. Sundaram Cong-I 41432
Mr. M. S. Gopalakrishnan CPIM 37925
Mr. T. M. P. Iyer BJP 10648
Mr. A. K. Ponnan IND 846
Mr. S. V. Iyer IND 414
Mr. M. Sivanarayanan JP 278
Mr. K. Appukuttan IND 193
Mr. P. P. Menon IND 159
Invalid: 1322

In 1987, C. M. Sundaram (UDF) won by a margin of 6065 votes.